If you’ve no idea what this is about, and you want to know more please click here, otherwise this is a diary of my attempts to stop a multi million pound American company from opposing my trademark and taking my website name. Just received an email from my solicitor explaining that Fisher and Richardson PC acting on behalf of an American company Coupon Inc have opposed my trademark application on the grounds of what only they seem to understand.
Clothes off!
Calendar time… When the second letter confirming their opposition arrived, we had friends around at the house. I was a bit more gutted than normal because the letter landed on my birthday. Lol. I explained what had happened and their response was instant… What can we do to help? Within an hour they had twelve names that were prepared to make a ‘Calendar Girls’ style stand in support of musicbrick.com, nothing tacky (one of them is my mum) but definitely focused towards music. Four prepared to fly over from the UK, the other seven our friends and one my mum … Dates and times for an action plan have been arranged for next week. So watch this space and I’ll let you know more. Seriously though, I’m honoured and humbled to think our friends would be prepared to support musicbrick.com in this way.
Thinking about choosing 12 musicbricks then finding the different album covers and 'squeezing' one of our vlounteers in there… One of the girls asked if she can be digitally enhanced to be a size 10. (not me mum)
Any ideas for good album covers let me know...
I’ve got to speak with the solicitor this week to find out what the options are… The last letter I sent cost £300 through the solicitor and that nearly killed me! So 2,3,4,5 letters later… forget it! Maybe there’s an easy way out!
Gloves off!
What really pisses me off though;
- They keep giving me dates to respond by, which by the time I receive their letter is about seven days… by not responding they can win the opposition on the grounds of ‘Non-commitment’ on my part.
- They keep crossing every ‘t’ and dotting every ‘i’, yet still manage to misspell at least one of their trademarks to bring it into line with mine eg “Our client offers the services and products under the following BRICKS marks: ADBRICKS, BRICKS, BRICKS DUET, ONEBRICKS, AND WEBRICK” … They do not own the trademark WEBBRICK, they own WEBBRICKS (plural). WEBBRICK on the other hand is owned by a company in the UK. (webbricksystems.co.uk)
- They’ve given me until the 1st October 2008 to respond to their letter with an option… They’re prepared to withdraw there opposition to my trademark, as long as I remove some of the phrasing protecting it... Seems easy enough? One problem, by agreeing to their terms, the website musicbrick.com will be financially bankrupt and closed within six months. The amendments will stop musicbrick.com from trading as a business, by preventing the website from advertising or promoting in any shape or form… Quote “Not to use its trademark “MUSICBRICK” for advertising or promotional services of any kind… The final details would have to be set out in a formal agreement”
